The 20s are for

“The 20s are for having fun anyway. Real life starts later. BUT it doesn’t  It starts now, and they are falling behind”

Recently family, friends, co-workers and strangers have all bombarded me with one question;

What are your plans for the future?

Five years ago I finished High School. Then the expectations on what to do next did not rest until I applied for college. I applied prior to pressure because I was afraid of wasting my life away. Two years went by and I was back to square one, with nothing accomplished and absolutely no clue as to where I was headed. I did not hit rock bottom, I just went by searching for something that could be me, fulfill me. The only thing I was sure of was that I did not have time to search, I only had time to act.

My recent three years have been dedicated to a bachelor degree that I thought was all wrong for me. I gave it 3 weeks top. After a semester, I thought to myself, maybe 3 weeks more? Those 3 weeks turned into years, and now I’m left with a degree. My future was unforeseen. I had no idea that I would enjoy the major so much, or even that I would meet unforgettable friends. I had no clue whatsoever that I could create remarkable memories. It was all possible because of the choices I made. I dropped everything and everyone and moved to pursue a “thing” that was unsure and kind of scary. As I was asked about why I moved, I would come up with lame excuses, because honestly, I had no idea why I dropped everything for a fresh start. All I knew was that it all felt right.

Three years later, a bachelor degree later, a full-time job later, tons of friends later, tons of hard work later and gazillion of blessings later, I am here. I am right where I want to be. I have made choices that have led me here, and I will continue making choices to get me further. Here is not where I want to be, here is just a pit stop toward where I’m going. When I’m there, I will let you know. Until then, I’m glad I made the choices on my own, and did not let life choose for me. Still, my future is unforeseen, but still it all feels right.

So, why am I telling you all this? You too have been asked similar question like me; what are your plans for the future?

I came across an article written just for you. Yes, you who are in your 20-something, because you and I are in the same boat, toward a future we cannot outrun; we are never getting younger.

I have dreams like most people out there, I have goals like some people out there and I’m doing all I can to reach every milestone like few people out there. It is not only about visioning your life it’s about acting on it that makes a difference. Way too often we t

hink that we have all the time in the world, but in fact, time already is running out. Our 20-something

period has been called the Twixters, Choisters, pre-adults, adultescents, the stuck generation and the lost generation, playing out an extended adolescence or an emerging adulthood or their odyssey years. They are the 20-somethings that graduated into one of the worst economies in decades, saddled with some of the highest debt burdens. According to a new report, half of recent college graduates are unemployed or underemployed, scraping by with low-wage service jobs. Those who are working earn less than their 1970s counterparts, when adjusted for inflation. Continue reading… 

Barby :]]

One thought on “The 20s are for

Comment here:

