same LOVE

This is not a political entry.

These are my own words, thoughts and feelings.

samelove

My heart has been burning for this case for a very long time now. I have always been attracted to guys, and I knew this since I was in kindergarten because I consistently tried to impress all the guys with my many talents that I had. I would give up my “you-have-been-good-today” cookies to the cutest guy in class and I would step up my game and be the best in everything I set my mind to. Just to impress that cute guy. Since kindergarten I knew who I was attracted to.

As years passed, I was taught how liking the same gender was wrong. I understood that I was one stereotype and for those who liked the same sex had certain characteristics, thus belonging to another stereotype. Being homosexual was perceived as a taboo, and still is in some parts of society. I was taught that it was a sin, because it was believed that it was a decision one makes. And if it was not by choice, there were societies believing that you can be cured with some treatment and religion. I don’t believe that is true.

change

Believing is a strong action, making someone believe requires a lot of effort and some humility. As a kid, I was not what so ever “protected” from homosexuality, but I was hidden from the truth. The truth that we are all the same, no matter who we feel attracted to.

I believe in Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father. “I believe” is a strong word and requires action. I have believed in Heavenly Father and Jesus Christ my whole life, and through life I have learned that we are all the same. Not the same as in color, personality, culture, language or economy. No, we are all the same as in we are all humans, living on this earth, together. It’s Human Rights for everybody, there is no difference! Believing has led me to truly understand one thing; We are all loved, by our families or our friends, by our loved ones or our neighbors and even by strangers whom we are so quick to judge.

 It’s true what they say; you have never experienced until you walk in ones’ shoes.

hate

I am not here to say that I know what you go through, I am here to share just one message; I love you the way you are, the way you choose to be, and mostly I love you. Period. You. I have seen the pain and the fear. Those things and emotions that deprive you from being alive, from being true to yourself, from being who

you were meant to be. You. I have seen your anger, your frustration, leaving you feeling like a nobody. I am so sorry for what they made me believe when I was younger and for judging you so quickly and making you feel less. I have tried to console your broken hearts, but felt powerless by the words other keep attacking you with. I am not here to tell you who to be, or who to love. I am here to tell you that I love you regardless. I might not know you, but I still love you.

With harsh words, we have become numb to what we are saying. The harsh words have become our everyday vocabulary and weloveiskind don’t give them a second thought. Did you know that once you think it, you have already said it, but can take it back? But once you have spoken those words out loud, they can never be taken back? Did you know that words hurt more than a punch or a kick because they last in our memories forever? The pain of a punch or a kick will disappear in a few days, but words spoken will haunt us to our grave. Did you know that words alone have led to thousands of people committing suicide? Like Macklemore once sung; no law will change us, we have to change us. The words we so freely are blessed to use and speak, let’s use them for good. By doing so, you are not stripped of your freedom of speech, rather, you are actually giving another individual the freedom to be.

Barby :]]

Comment here:

